PID CONTROLLER
From rob

It should be noted that while I authored this article, I'm not the originator. This project was only made possible through the efforts of many members from the Bradley Food Smoker Forms. To name a few that I know of Bubbagump, TomG, begolf25, Arcs_n_Sparks, car54, gary_CO and I'm sure many others.

To all of those who made this project possible I cannot thank you enough, and a special thanks goes to begolf25 for answering my questions and all of his help.

Do Note: I am not an electrician and claim no special knowledge about electricity. I don't know anything about wiring diagrams. I made the supplied wiring diagram based on information found on the Bradley Food Smoker Forums. I made a PID control box based on this diagram and it works perfectly. Auber Instruments suggests that a fuse be used with this PID. I've been told by others that because this box plugs into the smoke generator (which is fused), that a fuse is not needed.
  • Disclaimer: Should you decide to create a controller based upon this article and it burns down your house, causes a death, or any form of harm it is solely your responsibility. This article is for my personnal interest only. It is not meant to be used for commercial purposes; nor is this article a guide for building a PID controller for your food smoker. It is a step by step of how I built my unit. Again this article is only for my personnal interest.
    Proceed at your own risk!
I really found this to be an easy project, even having no knowledge of electricity. The hardest part for me was rounding up all the supplies.

I think that by looking at the supplied picture and reading the text, it should be clear how I proceeded through each step. If the instructions are not intuitive, please E-mail your suggestions on how to improve them to the Webmaster.

The total costs for the project should be about $100.